It is currently Wed Aug 10, 2022 2:01 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Sep 07, 2010 7:48 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2010 9:06 am
Posts: 175
Sometimes people ask for two needles.

Here is a solution
If you want to compare several values using a gauge, you have to use the "ALERT"
(the setup is divided into 2 tabs: 1/2 for the first one and 2/2 for the second one)

On the first tab, you choose how many alerts you want (maximum = 3)
And for each alert, you have to decide its minimum, maximum and color

On the second tab, the choice is about where to show the alert(s):
You can decide to put it on any life circle (like on a tree trunk).

Conclusion
But no airplane gauge has two needles. Nor Boeing nor Airbus have created such monster.
Getting two needles would be very painful. You would have to get different shapes to recognize them.

The only case when two needles exist in the dial is for watches (the Hour needle is smaller than the Minute one).
If this happened, you would loose the main interest of a gauge that is to get the instant value at lightning speed (in milliseconds, without deciphering figures).

Getting too many needles would be the same nightmare as a pie chart with too many slices
becoming just an aesthetic art object (if you are lucky), but unusable for data visualization.


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 10:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 10:27 pm
Posts: 4
Yes, for mission critical - real life situations, two needles can be confusing. But in the context of data representation I think it would be benificial especially when having to compare a current metric with a historical one.

Your solution of using the alert bars to compare data would not be fesable in a situation where you have already reserved the alert bars to show acceptable ranges, but yet still want to compare current data vs. historical.

Is there any way to overlay a second guage that has a transparent background over an existing guage?

Thanks,

Rob


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 9:49 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2010 9:06 am
Posts: 175
Good point !
It' possible to add a second gauge on top of a first one.
Not only it gives two needles (or even more), but if you set up alerts the right way you have 6 alert areas (or even more).

Here is the proceeding:
  • First you have to create a blank transparent image (PNG format). We will put one in the next version of BeGraphic.
  • store it in C:\Program Files\BeGraphic\BeGraphic\Content\Gauge\Background
  • set up the first gauge without a glass
  • in the BeGraphic ribbon, use the option "Excel layout / Align / Snap to shape". When you gently move a new shape near to another shape (or a cell), this option forces the new shape to be aligned to the other one.
  • set up the second gauge with the special background "transparent"

Therefore gauges can have as many needles and alert areas as you want!


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Wed Nov 30, 2011 8:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 8:20 pm
Posts: 1
Hi
A'm using a gauge whith two needles. Made one gauge as usual and one whith transparency background.
The problem I have is when I put them toghether. Having big problem geting the two scale right. Is i possible to
make the transparence gauge whith a transparency scale.
Sorry for my homemade english, I'm from sweden :mrgreen:
/LJ


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 01, 2011 8:10 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2010 9:06 am
Posts: 175
Dear BeGraphic user

Indeed it's difficult to have the same scale (graduations) on two different gauges.

Unfortunately it's not possible in the current version to have no graduations (or transparency graduations).

We will put this options in the next version.

Best regards
BeGraphic's team


Top
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group